I tuck a leaf into my hair, now we are One again.

This was taken at Great Falls in VA.

O incomparable Giver of life, cut reason loose at last!

Let it wander grey-eyed from vanity to vanity.

Shatter open my skull, pour in it the wine of madness!

Let me be mad, as You; mad with You, with us.

Beyond the sanity of fools is a burning desert

Where Your sun is whirling in every atom:

Beloved, drag me there, let me roast in Perfection!

– Rumi

I see some pieces of a future falling to this place. This was as far away a place I could ever hope to be. Sometimes I count the hours in flight and distance in time. I count our silences. But time has swallowed the past and philosophy tells me not to think of it. Now and again, I hear our silences. I keep silent too. Then I close my eyes and pray.

—-

Little birds and squirrels dart across fields,

whistles and thistles

Now the sun rays are raining in

The fragile state disappears

In this face, when nothing else is more beautiful

Than this tree that reigns above me

God appears everywhere

I tuck a leaf into my hair

And now we are One again.

One thought on “I tuck a leaf into my hair, now we are One again.

Leave a Reply

