Portraits of the crazy girl’s Afghan life

 IMG_5062 IMG_5060 IMG_5066

IMG_5083

This is where I live, Salangwat, at the foot of TV Hill. It’s a proper 3 storey mudhouse, divided into many quarters. The first storey is where we wash our carpets, our big dishes, where we store firewood, and other storage goods. We also have a tap pipe to fetch water. The second storey is divided into two quarters. Most houses in Afghanistan have two quarters at least; one for ordinary day to day living, and another similar room for guests. Guests and visiting is very common in Afghanistan.

Below is the view from the balcony. This is where the poor people live, on the hill where you don’t have to pay rent.

IMG_5088 IMG_5084 IMG_5083 IMG_5089

Balcony of the mudhouse where Modar tandoors her naan.

IMG_5091IMG_5082IMG_5080

This is really cute; this little wooden pillar holds up the roof

IMG_5104

Cleaning up rice (brinj)

 IMG_5093

Yama, Sunbol’s brother and I

IMG_5122

My neighbours kite flyingIMG_5126

This was my first night here. Pedar (father) came home from Logar Province where he is stationed as a police officer. This is his gun. Bang Bang! Pedar has two wounds on his knee where insurgents shot him. It really looks like a bullet hole, and very horrific looking. IMG_5076  IMG_5143

Where we shower and drop bombs

IMG_5117 IMG_5096 IMG_5097

The magnificent view of everything wrong in this world. Shit!IMG_5120

Sunbol at a party reading about the election candidates

IMG_5145 

Afghan dancing, Kataghani

IMG_5157

Shoaib’s house; his living room. Everyone really dresses up when they visit relatives, especially the girls because they don’t get to go out and dress up anywhere else. IMG_5152 IMG_5153 This is an Afghan burger. Really, they call it bargar. IMG_5154 IMG_5155 IMG_5150 Shoaib’s bathroom. And they don’t have a kitchen. They cook on the floor in their basement.IMG_5149

From where they sleep, how they cook, what they eat you can really tell how very poor her relatives are. Two nights ago I stayed at Shoaib’s house. His family is really poor. Both father and mother do not have a job. He makes Afghan burgers and sells it everyday to support his family, working long hours under the heat. I teach him English now about 3 times a week with the hope that it will increase his employability. He wanted to do some courses and go to school but the mother pulled him out because the family needed him to work. When I visit their relatives house, sometimes I feel really bad because it costs them to cook for me and in addition, they have to buy me bottled mineral water.

IMG_5151

Modar jaan and Koko Zahir, my favourite Afghan Koko

Below is a picture for Raj – Khan! The little children with their building blocks.

IMG_5190

This is Habir’s family, at Razia’s guesthouse.

IMG_5195 IMG_5196 IMG_5197

Below is a funny story. I made Shoaib and Wasi sit in front of me here then told them I will take a picture of you and then send this picture to you to remind you the lessons I have taught you; which was to never hit a woman and I made them swear in the name of Allah that they would never do it, even ‘if she is always nagging’. Wais and Shoaib are like my brothers.

IMG_5214IMG_5213  These are packets of food that the American military distributes to their soldiers. We had some. So yummy. IMG_5202 IMG_5204   

Election candidate manifesto in freely distributed booklets coming up to the elections

IMG_5147IMG_5146 

Below is a picture of our living room. Most Afghan living rooms look like this, even the ones in mudhouses have very beautiful living rooms. Carpets is a measure of wealth in Afghanistan. IMG_5098 

On the way to the toilet is a picture of Meena Kumari, the legendary Pakeezah actress.

    IMG_5112IMG_5079

8 thoughts on “Portraits of the crazy girl’s Afghan life

  1. My sweet friend Natasha who is most gracious. I read all your emails in detail and now I can see the pictures. You look so blended in into their culture. Its like your are part of them.

  2. Mashallah is this the family you were telling me that is amazig story. I like your story and i tell it to all

  3. Great insight into everyday life behind closed doors.

    I really enjoy your site, I subscribe via RSS and although I’m somewhere very different right now. I keep reading and looking here and somehow, in a very raw way prefer where you are.

    All the best

    Dave

  4. I got this web site from my pal who shared with me concerning this web site and at the moment
    this time I am browsing this website and reading very informative posts at this time.

Leave a Reply

